Award – February 12 2020

Submit your nomination for the Hermann Gmeiner Award 2020!

Deadline 5 March

The Hermann Gmeiner Award - named after our founder - honours individuals who grew up in an SOS Children's Village and have gone on to become role models in their communities.

Help us find the two winners of the Hermann Gmeiner Award 2020.

Nominations are open and we encourage you to submit the name of an SOS Children’s Villages alum who has gone on to do commendable work in their chosen field.

For the award we are looking for:

· Inspiring stories of former SOS children and young people who, despite facing difficulties in life, made their way and have gone on to become role models for other young people.

· People who truly live our organisational values to make a difference.

· People who are outstanding in their field, whether social, cultural, athletic or professional.

· People who, in the spirit of Hermann Gmeiner and the SOS idea, have given back to society by contributing to the well-being of others and the greater good of their community.

The nomination period has been extended to 5 March! The links to the nomination forms are below:

English      French      Spanish

After nominations close, a selection panel comprised of SOS Children’s Villages colleagues will review the nominations and present the most outstanding nominees to the Board of the Hermann Gmeiner Academy. The ten finalists – five women and five men - will ultimately be chosen by the Board.

During March, SOS co-workers, friends and supporters will be able to help select two winners – one woman and one man - through an online voting process. The winners will be announced in April and they will be honoured at the 2020 General Assembly of SOS Children’s Villages International which takes place from June 23-25 in Innsbruck, Austria.

As Hermann Gmeiner once said: “The future of mankind will […] be determined by our success in bringing the next generation up to stand up for human dignity”.

Submit your nomination today!

Watch the videos of our 2018 winners, Dr Muruga Sirigere of India and Maria Anggelina of Indonesia